Sharing your Saved Searches with other users within your organisation is a great way to make sure that everyone is using the same data and viewing the same reports. For large organisations with many Fleets Analyzer users, it’s quite easy to become overwhelmed with shared Saved Searches. In order to combat this “over sharing”, we’ve just added a new addition to the sharing options. In addition to sharing your Saved Searches with all the users within your organisation, you can now share with ‘specific people and/or groups’.
Once you have saved your search, if you believe that other Fleets Analyzer users within your organisation might find it useful, you can make the search available to them by clicking the share icon alongside the search on the Saved Searches page.
When you have selected to share your search, you will have the following 3 options:
- Private (only you can see the search)
- Share with organisation
- Share with specific people and/or groups
‘Private’ is the default option, this means that only you can view the Saved Search. ‘Share with organisation’ will make the Saved Search available to all Fleets Analyzer users within your organisation. ‘Share with specific people and/or groups’ allows you to limit the sharing to specific Fleets Analyzer users within your organisation, this is covered in the next section.
Sharing with specific people
If you select the third option i.e. ‘Share with specific people and/or groups’ then you’ll be presented with the people/group picker (see Figure 2).
Simply enter a colleague’s name, and if they are a Fleets Analyzer user within your organisation then their name will appear in the list, select their name, and then either enter additional names, or select ‘Save and Share’. Your Saved Search will now be available to your chosen colleagues under the ‘Shared by Colleagues’ tab. This is great if you want to share a Saved Search with an ad-hoc group of people. If you regularly want to share Saved Searches with the same groups of people, then you can save time by creating these groups in advance.
Creating sharing groups
In order to create groups, visit the ‘My Groups’ tab found in the Saved Searches section (see Figure 3).
To create a group, select the ‘Create new group’ button, enter a name for the group, and then use the name field to search for and add users. Once you have added your users, select ‘Save group’.
Sharing with groups
The process for sharing with a predefined group is the same as sharing with individuals, but, rather than entering an individual’s name, simply enter the name of the group. Groups are identified in the drop-down with a ‘group icon’ (See Figure 4). Selecting the group will share the Saved Search with all your colleagues who are members of the group. It is also possible to share a Saved Search with a group (or multiple groups), and specific individuals.
Team Share notifications
When a colleague shares a Saved Search with you, you will receive an email notification informing you that you now have access to a shared Saved Search. This notification is only sent if the Saved Search was shared via the ‘Share with specific people and/or groups’ option, notifications are not sent for Saved Searches shared via the ‘Share with organisation’ option. If you don’t want to be informed when a Saved Search is shared with you, either opt-out via the ‘Notifications’ tab, or via the link contained within each notification email.
Notes on sharing Saved Searches
You own the Saved Searches that you have chosen to share, if you edit the Saved Search, those changes will be reflected to those who have access to the Saved Search. If you delete a Saved Search, it will no longer be available to other users. Other users cannot change your Saved Searches (but, they can ‘Save As’ and then create and edit their own versions).